Look up punk jazz in the dictionary and next to it you’ll find a photo of its patron saint Mike Dillon. The vibraphonist/percussionist/vocalist/MC has been in perpetual motion for over 20 years now. From his time spent with the late ’80s MTV buzz band Billy Goat to cult faves Hairy Apes BMX to his current role in the post rock behemoth Garage A Trois, Dillon has amassed a die hard fan base that embraces his ever subversive mash up of sounds and styles. He exudes the musical chops absorbed from countless hours spent with Milt Jackson records, while he simultaneously thrashes about with visions of Iggy Pop hard-wired to his frontal cortex. In that spirit, his latest solo album, Urn, pushes the envelope even further. Assembling a new band from his current hometown of New Orleans, Dillon toured the group relentlessly for the first half of 2012 before ducking into a Kansas City recording studio and cutting the album straight to tape. The results are vibrational as the best analog records always are: “DVS” and “Ding Dong The Party Is Over” radiate with a ska pulse and surf punk abandon; “Leather On” is a definitive post modern freak anthem; “Saturn Returns” shows why Dillon was Les Claypool’s perfect foil for all those years in the Frog Brigade; “Cedar” slowly uncoils on a mad existential bender through India. With Urn, Mike Dillon has made the rare album that can either be either the party starter to get the house rockin’ or the multi-dimensional headphone record for the end of the evening after everyone’s gone home.

Track Listing:

1. DVS
2. Leather On
3. Saturn Returns
4. Fluorescent Sunburn
5. Demons
6. Ding Dong The Party is Over
7. River is Burning
8. Sunny is Drunk
9. Cedar


Stream the Album

HI-Res Images

© 2014 Bill Douthart

© 2012 Zack Smith

Cover Art


Kevin Calabro
Calabro Music Media